Cooking · Gardens · Homesteading · Prepping · Recipes · Self-sufficiency

First Harvest of Parsley

I had started a small, tiny actually, windowsill garden in my kitchen a while back. 

It has been mostly experimental. Monday I had cut the lettuce and fed it to the rabbits, which was a real treat for them. I wasn’t too surprised about that being harvested because I have always grown lettuce, but I was still happy that I succeeded with my kitchen garden. 

Yesterday I harvested some parsley. Which really made me excited and happy. It was a first for me and I was happy to have been able to use it in my dinner dish. 

To harvest the parsley I cut all the leaves with at least 3 stems, each having at least 3 leaves each. I cut them at the base to encourage more growth.

Then I chopped the parsley leaves up and added them to my mashed potatoes.

Parsley is a great herb to use when cooking potatoes so I thought this was perfect! It sure was yummy and you could definitely taste that it was fresh parsley. 

I have been so excited about being able to grow parsley and actually use it in the kitchen for the first time. 

I feel like I am making great progress on my homestead. 

I am going to be starting a much larger herb garden outside so I can hopefully have enough to get me through winter as well. 

Some of the herbs I am growing or planning to are oregano, basil, chives, sage, and parsley. 

What are some of your favorite herbs to grow?

Remember to follow our blog so you can stay updated on our homestead. 

Stay updated with our business, which is a huge part to our homestead, by following us on 

Instagram: janesthisnthat 

and by liking our 

Facebook page: Jane’s This-N-That

Shop our products on 

Etsy: Jane’s Needfuls

Or visit our

Website: janesneedfuls.patternbyetsy.com 

Leave a Reply

